AFL 4 years ago

Lenny wins Madden Medal

  • Lenny wins Madden Medal

Lenny Hayes has won the 2014 Madden Medal.

In what was a truly Melbourne Cup field for the award this year, Hayes was chosen ahead of the likes of premiership stars Jonathan Brown and Dean Cox, and former club captains Luke Ball, Dom Cassisi and Darren Glass.

The award seems a little superfluous to me - I don't really see the need to elevate one retiring great's achievements over others. According to the AFL Players' Association, which awards the gong, the key criteria are football achievement, personal development and community spirit and off-field engagement.

You might also like

Still, by those measures there can be no argument that Lenny is not a deserving winner, and he will certainly accept the honour with his customary grace and humility. He becomes the second Saint to win the prize, following Robert Harvey's victory in 2008.

Well done, Lenny.

Past Winners

Glenn Archer (2007)

Robert Harvey (2008)

Michael O’Loughlin (2009)

Brett Kirk (2010)

Cameron Ling (2011)

Luke Power (2012) 

Jude Bolton (2013)

0 0
please wait...